Stuck in a Rut

A lot of things are popping up and trying to fight for the title “the hardest thing I’ve ever done.” Today’s champion is none other than Avalonstar itself. I’ll be frank, trying to top what I’ve done in May and in July before that is proving to be the hardest thing I’ve ever done. No, I mean I’m not in a total rut, just a rut with Avalonstar. Everything’s in place, everything’s ready to go – new features, new ideas, new everything – but the design isn’t getting done.

I’ve gone through about 10 concepts and god knows how many ideas that never made it from the shower to the computer. Every one follows the exact wireframe I want, but I never like them. Am I trying too hard? Should I pull an Inman or a Bowman and go really simple? Is all this programming I’m learning starting to ruin who I am as a designer? I don’t know, but it’s scaring me. It’s a different situation than I’ve faced before. Frankly, I’d rather be in a rut than constantly coming up with ideas that either never make it, or never satisfy me.

Well, one can only hope for the best. :)

~ by Bryan on October 30, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
